« Citizens, consumers, farmers: unite in the defence of the principle of agricultural exception »

AGRICULTURAL EXCEPTION: WHY ?

The agricultural sector is facing a major crisis. Today, the tools we have at our disposal to withstand it are insufficient. It is therefore essential to launch a debate at European level on the real necessity to support agriculture in a different way.

The agricultural sector is in difficulty today and has to confront:

  • a highly volatile market with the prices paid to producers in free-fall, whereas the prices the consumers have to pay continue to rise;
  • a decline of almost 70% over the last 30 years in the number of farms and farm workers in Belgium;
  • rising imports of agricultural products (soy, corn, sugar, etc.) making the European Union dependent on countries where production quality standards are significantly more lax (GMO, health checks, etc.); Read more

THE AGRICULTURAL EXCEPTION CHARTER

  • Considering that agriculture is essential to ensure food autonomy and the right to food;
  • Considering that the current situation is marked by prices that are too low for the producers and the context of a demand shortage, notably due to political and geopolitical factors at international levels;
  • Considering that the agricultural sector is characterised by the high price volatility of its products and that it falls within a specific economic model that cannot be governed solely by market forces;
  • Considering that agriculture plays a major role in cultural identity, land and regional management, the preservation of the environment and ecosystems and the preservation of food heritage; Read more

NEWS ARTICLE

The HDC’s “agricultural” exception

Home page Belgium – Friday, 18 September 2015 – Emmanuel HUET – The Future

The HDC’s project: to make agriculture an exception in the eyes of the world markets. From the smallest local municipality all the way up to Europe, the aim is to change the rules. Read more

MUNICIPAL MOTION ON THE AGRICULTURAL EXCEPTION

The municipal council,

  • Considers that agriculture is essential to ensure food autonomy and the right to food;
  • Considers that the current situation is marked by prices that are too low for the producers and the context of a demand shortage, also due to political and geopolitical factors at international levels; Read more

Yes, I agree and sign the charter :

SIGN THE CHARTER

« Citoyens, consommateurs, agriculteurs : tous ensemble pour défendre l’exception agricole »

EXCEPTION AGRICOLE : POURQUOI ?

Le secteur agricole est confronté à une crise majeure. Actuellement, les outils dont nous disposons pour la résoudre sont insuffisants. Il faut donc ouvrir un débat au niveau européen sur la nécessité de soutenir autrement l’agriculture.

Aujourd’hui, le secteur agricole est mis en difficulté et doit faire face à:

  • un marché fortement volatile où les prix payés aux producteurs sont en chute libre ;
  • la baisse de près de 70% en 30 ans du nombre d’exploitations agricoles en Belgique ainsi que de la main d’œuvre ;
  • l’augmentation des importations de produits agricoles (soja, maïs, sucre, viandes, etc.) rendant l’Union européenne dépendante de pays où les normes de qualité de production sont moins strictes (OGM, contrôles sanitaires, etc.) ; Lire la suite

LA CHARTE DE L’EXCEPTION AGRICOLE

  • Considérant que l’agriculture est essentielle pour garantir l’autonomie alimentaire et le droit à l’alimentation ;
  • Considérant que la conjoncture actuelle est marquée par des prix trop bas pour les producteurs et par un contexte de pénurie de la demande liée notamment à des facteurs politiques et géopolitiques au niveau international ;
  •  Considérant que le secteur agricole se caractérise par la forte volatilité du prix de ses produits et qu’il relève d’un modèle économique spécifique qui ne peut être laissé aux seules lois du marché ;
  • Considérant le rôle majeur de l’agriculture dans l’identité culturelle, la gestion des territoires, la préservation de l’environnement et des écosystèmes et la préservation du patrimoine alimentaire ; Lire la suite

VIDEO

MOTION COMMUNALE DE L’EXCEPTION AGRICOLE

Le Conseil communal,

  • Considère que l’agriculture est essentielle pour garantir l’autonomie alimentaire et le droit à l’alimentation ;
  • Considère que la conjoncture actuelle est marquée par des prix trop bas pour les producteurs et par un contexte de pénurie de la demande liée aussi à des facteurs politiques et géopolitiques au niveau international ; Lire la suite

Moi aussi, je signe la pétition :

SIGNER LA PETITION